C4 Engine

Facebook Twitter Google+ YouTube IndieDB
News Explore
Download Demo
Feature List
Licensing Info
Screenshots
Video
Support
Support Forums
C4 Engine Wiki
API Documentation
Release Notes
Purchase My Account

Blender To C4

Topics about the art pipeline and external content creation.
Forum rules
Advertisements for products and services are not allowed unless you are a licensed user of C4 and you have been given permission to post them.

Re: Blender To C4

Postby Jack » 16 Dec 2009, 09:23

If you show me an example that will work with C4 I´ll invest some time to get it working.
User avatar
Jack
Power User
Power User
 
Posts: 943
Joined: 05 Nov 2006, 18:50
Location: Germany

Re: Blender To C4

Postby hpcorona » 16 Dec 2009, 14:17

This should be the default exporter. Good job Jack!
No Religion Higher Than Truth
Retina MacBook Pro 15"
CPU: 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7 RAM: 8GB DDR3 Graphics: GeForce GT 650M 1GB OS: OSX HDD: 256GB SSD
User avatar
hpcorona
Experienced User
Experienced User
 
Posts: 153
Joined: 05 Apr 2009, 14:28

Re: Blender To C4

Postby Amo » 16 Dec 2009, 14:19

I'll pm you.
http://www.toxsick-labs.com

per aspera ad astra
User avatar
Amo
Community Leader
Community Leader
 
Posts: 992
Joined: 26 Nov 2007, 06:14
Location: Germany

Re: Blender To C4

Postby Phoenix » 17 Dec 2009, 22:44

Jack wrote:I´ve trouble to get this animation into c4. I´m pretty shure that should work but it does not. Importing (and saving as model) works very fine but the animation is allways scaled out and it should not.

I´ve upload two files. One is DAE-Geometry and that another DAE-Animation of that geometry.

Eric, please take a look at that.

Test_DAE.rar


I know I'm responding to an older post but:

When you mention a "scaled out" problem, are you referring to this issue, or is this something else entirely? Our team is using Blender and I was wondering if your exporter duplicates the fixes in the thread I just linked, so should we remove them, if so?

edit: After looking at that link I mentioned, it appears that since we wouldnt be using the old Collada scripts if we switched to yours, that it wouldnt be an issue...we're kinda new Blender users here so sorry for the noob questions. :)
Phoenix
Regular User
Regular User
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 13 Aug 2009, 21:53

Re: Blender To C4

Postby Jack » 17 Dec 2009, 23:27

No that was not that issue. The proplem was here to bake the scale to geometry in blender before exporting to c4.
User avatar
Jack
Power User
Power User
 
Posts: 943
Joined: 05 Nov 2006, 18:50
Location: Germany

Re: Blender To C4

Postby martinck » 18 Dec 2009, 09:21

Hi Jack,

Are your exporter suitable for blender 2.5 :lol:
martinck
Experienced User
Experienced User
 
Posts: 129
Joined: 04 Jun 2008, 04:05

Re: Blender To C4

Postby Jack » 18 Dec 2009, 12:05

No, the python-API has changed. Perhaps if Blender (release) is out, I´ll rewrite the exporter.
Last edited by Jack on 18 Dec 2009, 12:08, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Jack
Power User
Power User
 
Posts: 943
Joined: 05 Nov 2006, 18:50
Location: Germany

Re: Blender To C4

Postby Jack » 18 Dec 2009, 12:07

I´ve added support for exporting the second uv-channel.

C4_Collada_Exporter.rar
(58.72 KiB) Downloaded 97 times
User avatar
Jack
Power User
Power User
 
Posts: 943
Joined: 05 Nov 2006, 18:50
Location: Germany

Re: Blender To C4

Postby hpcorona » 19 Dec 2009, 00:57

Nice.
No Religion Higher Than Truth
Retina MacBook Pro 15"
CPU: 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7 RAM: 8GB DDR3 Graphics: GeForce GT 650M 1GB OS: OSX HDD: 256GB SSD
User avatar
hpcorona
Experienced User
Experienced User
 
Posts: 153
Joined: 05 Apr 2009, 14:28

Re: Blender To C4

Postby martinck » 19 Dec 2009, 09:56

Thank you Jack 8)
martinck
Experienced User
Experienced User
 
Posts: 129
Joined: 04 Jun 2008, 04:05

Re: Blender To C4

Postby mmelo » 19 Dec 2009, 19:09

Jack wrote:I´ve added support for exporting the second uv-channel.

C4_Collada_Exporter.rar


Very nice... thanks! :D
Miguel Melo
User avatar
mmelo
Advanced User
Advanced User
 
Posts: 228
Joined: 30 Mar 2008, 15:30
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: Blender To C4

Postby Niteen Hatle » 20 Dec 2009, 01:31

Jack,

I'm facing this problem while exporting from blender. Please check the image attached. I can see only half of the export window. What could be causing this? Otherwise your exporter is working great. How do I make the whole export dialog show up?

Thanks.

Niteen.
Attachments
C4ExpProb.jpg
Niteen Hatle
Advanced User
Advanced User
 
Posts: 202
Joined: 27 Jul 2009, 12:54

Re: Blender To C4

Postby Jack » 20 Dec 2009, 06:36

To get rid of that you could maximize the Blender window (you screen resolution is to small) or download the bugfix.

export_c4.rar
(12.54 KiB) Downloaded 97 times
User avatar
Jack
Power User
Power User
 
Posts: 943
Joined: 05 Nov 2006, 18:50
Location: Germany

Re: Blender To C4

Postby Niteen Hatle » 20 Dec 2009, 08:12

Wonderful!

Thank you very much, Jack.

Niteen.

PS:- Still using old 15in CRT :oops:
Niteen Hatle
Advanced User
Advanced User
 
Posts: 202
Joined: 27 Jul 2009, 12:54

Re: Blender To C4

Postby Amo » 21 Dec 2009, 04:28

Hi Jack, it works like a charm! :)

However, you would earn yourself a godlike status with a file browser for the export :lol:
I need to leave now, reimporting a crapload of models... :roll:
http://www.toxsick-labs.com

per aspera ad astra
User avatar
Amo
Community Leader
Community Leader
 
Posts: 992
Joined: 26 Nov 2007, 06:14
Location: Germany

Re: Blender To C4

Postby Amo » 21 Dec 2009, 05:12

OK, a few things I recognized when working with it:

From time to time the exporter crashs and melts blender too. Till yet it only occured, when exporting several selected models spread over different layers.

The models gets exported with a Z rotation of 90 degree which is unneccessary.

No big deals at all, because the "standard" blender collada exporter leads also to crashs and rotating the objects back to 0 is also easy to do. Just wanted to report it.
http://www.toxsick-labs.com

per aspera ad astra
User avatar
Amo
Community Leader
Community Leader
 
Posts: 992
Joined: 26 Nov 2007, 06:14
Location: Germany

Re: Blender To C4

Postby Jack » 21 Dec 2009, 11:21

Amo wrote:From time to time the exporter crashs and melts blender too. Till yet it only occured, when exporting several selected models spread over different layers.

Yes, I known about this bug and I don´t really known what is going wrong because it crashes from time to time. I suppose that is Python-API crashing the blender.
User avatar
Jack
Power User
Power User
 
Posts: 943
Joined: 05 Nov 2006, 18:50
Location: Germany

Re: Blender To C4

Postby mohrens » 21 Dec 2009, 12:04

Somehow this does not work for me.
Blender 2.492 and C4 1.5.9. I test the test file and my own file, C4 crashes as I import (only if I have an armature). Do you have different versions?

Now the fbx ->convert to DAE route does not work either any more, even in the beginning of this year (older versions) I had no problems.
mohrens
Regular User
Regular User
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 03 Oct 2007, 16:55
Location: Hamilton, Canada

Re: Blender To C4

Postby Jack » 22 Dec 2009, 00:01

No, I´ve the same version. What Python version do you have installed?
User avatar
Jack
Power User
Power User
 
Posts: 943
Joined: 05 Nov 2006, 18:50
Location: Germany

Re: Blender To C4

Postby Amo » 22 Dec 2009, 03:31

Jack wrote:
Amo wrote:From time to time the exporter crashs and melts blender too. Till yet it only occured, when exporting several selected models spread over different layers.

Yes, I known about this bug and I don´t really known what is going wrong because it crashes from time to time. I suppose that is Python-API crashing the blender.


Possible. On the other hand, I had several blender chrashes in the past, all collada related. The standard 1.4 exporter leads also often to crashes. Anyway. I love this exporter, it removed all glitches I had with FBX way. Even both textures of double UV materials get recognized which is more than I had expected. It also keeps the mat ids (which does not happen when going the FBX way and which turns LOD importing into a real pain...) what to say more than just: AWESOME!
http://www.toxsick-labs.com

per aspera ad astra
User avatar
Amo
Community Leader
Community Leader
 
Posts: 992
Joined: 26 Nov 2007, 06:14
Location: Germany

Re: Blender To C4

Postby mohrens » 22 Dec 2009, 11:15

OK, this test one works for me, but it does not work for my own models (model + armature, model alone works).
To check, here is the sequence:

Make the mash
Create the armature (There should be nothing special there)
Parent the mash to the armature (ctrl-p) (I use from envelop, and then weight paint)
[[if I import now it works but only the mash shows]]
Make the armature real (so the modifiers get generated)
[[If I import now C4 crashes]]

So the modifiers seem to cause the problem.

What am I missing ? Any help is welcome !!
mohrens
Regular User
Regular User
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 03 Oct 2007, 16:55
Location: Hamilton, Canada

Re: Blender To C4

Postby Eric Lengyel » 22 Dec 2009, 14:48

Can you send me a DAE file that causes the C4 Collada importer to crash?
User avatar
Eric Lengyel
Terathon Employee
Terathon Employee
 
Posts: 18769
Joined: 09 May 2005, 19:00
Location: Roseville, CA

Re: Blender To C4

Postby Jack » 22 Dec 2009, 16:01

Me too, please.
User avatar
Jack
Power User
Power User
 
Posts: 943
Joined: 05 Nov 2006, 18:50
Location: Germany

Re: Blender To C4

Postby mohrens » 22 Dec 2009, 17:16

PM send to both of you with the file, thanks
mohrens
Regular User
Regular User
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 03 Oct 2007, 16:55
Location: Hamilton, Canada

Re: Blender To C4

Postby Jack » 22 Dec 2009, 17:52

The reason is that not all vertices are skinned. All vertices have to be weight painted. If you disable Envelope deforming in the Armature modyfier you will see what vertices are not affected by vertex groups.
User avatar
Jack
Power User
Power User
 
Posts: 943
Joined: 05 Nov 2006, 18:50
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to Artist Central

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

Company Contact Privacy Policy Site Map Copyright © 2001–2014 Terathon Software LLC Terathon Software